Accelerating Australia would like to congratulate MTPConnect CEO, Sue MacLeman, who was last week awarded BioMelbourne Network’s 2017 Women in Leadership award.

With over 25 years experience as an MTP executive with roles at Schering-Plough Corporation (now Merck), Amgen and Bristol-Myers Squibb, Sue also sits on the board of a number of public and private entities is also a consultant for Mesoblast Limited. In February 2016, Sue was appointed CEOof MTPConnect, one of the Government’s Industry Growth Centres set up to develop a world-leading MTP sector in Australia.

On receiving her award at the 9th Annual Connecting Women Lunch at Mural Hall, Sue thanked her team, in particular MTP chair Dr Bronwyn Evans, and admitted that her (majority female) team has earned her some criticism in the past but added “I’m incredibly honoured and humbled to receive such a prestigious accolade amongst so many exceptional women who have all thrived in corporate leadership roles and played an important role in our sector. I believe that having diversity within leadership is crucial to drive innovation and collaboration within the MTP sector.”

BioMelbourne Network is a not-for-profit associations for organisations in the biotechnology, medtech, pharmaceutical and health innovation sectors within Victoria. Dr Krystal Evans, Chief Executive Officer of BioMelbourne Network said of Sue’s win, “The BioMelbourne Network Women in Leadership Awards celebrate the talented, tenacious women who are advancing the medical technology and pharmaceutical sector. Our 2017 awardee Sue MacLeman’s leadership skills have shone through at all stages of her career, not only her technical and corporate skills, but her ability to lead and inspire the people around here. She has risen to the challenge of leading the new Industry Growth Centre, MTPConnect, and has shown outstanding leadership in her ability to unify key sector stakeholders around a shared vision for the future of our industry.”


Left to right: 2017 Emerging Women in Leadership winner Dr Elizabeth Williams, 2017 Most Valuable Women in Leadership winner Dr Kerry Hegarty, 2017 Women in Leadership winner Sue MacLeman





Share this: